top of page

Book Review: 'My Green Day'

This is a short and meaningful story, with simple illustrations. Whenever I choose books for young children, I do so carefully. Here are a few key suggestions for choosing the right book: 


It should be relatively short 


Illustrations should be clear and interesting to look at


Print that is large enough for the children to recognize letters and words (if they at the early stages of reading)


The story itself must have a good message, that's age appropriate and relevant. I must say I'm not a big fan of fairy tales (that's the Montessori in me😊)

My Green Day ticks all of those boxes, although there is some small print. The subtitle is telling - '10 green things I can do today'.

It's a call for young minds to gain awareness of eco-friendly choices. From composting, and saving electricity, to making home made food.

I invite you to read it to your preschooler, as part of your summer reading list. Happy reading!

Title of the book: My Green Day' by Melanie Walsh. 

Patricia Mezu, director Professional Minds 

bottom of page